• 2023 Volume 45 Issue 10
    Published: 23 October 2023
      

  • Select all
    |
  • DU Lihua WU Shiwen
    2023, 45(10): 6-27.
    Abstract ( ) Download PDF ( )   Knowledge map   Save
    In the development of the Internet dominated by the logic of connectivity, disconnection is an alternative Internet-using practice that has not received enough attention for a long time. This paper focuses on the historical development process of network disconnection in our country, and divides network disconnection into partial connectivity phase (1994-2006), universal connectivity phase (2007-2013), and generalized connectivity phase (2013-present). During the historical development of disconnection, two controversial issues emerged: the right to personal information and the right to disconnection. The right to personal information changed with the development of the connection phase. The right to disconnection faced two dilemmas: the conflict with the organizational culture of “busy is successful” and the challenge of redefining the work-life boundary. Whether it is the right to disconnection or the right to personal information, the controversy surrounding both revolves around whether online disconnection can become a social mechanism. The debate about disconnection from the internet revolves around whether disconnection can become a social mechanism. Netizens carry out the life deceleration exploration of situational disconnection, and “wander” between the states of connection and disconnection. This paper points out that disconnection has a tendency to become a way of life, but there are still many questions about whether it can be used as a social mechanism.
  • FANG Hui WU Shangwei
    2023, 45(10): 28-48.
    Abstract ( ) Download PDF ( )   Knowledge map   Save
    This article focuses on the “digital death” on Chinese social media platforms. It refers to social media platforms’ depriving individuals of their right to live digitally on platforms through repressive account suspensions (namely “account bombing”). We collected 131 online writings about digital lives and conducted 39 in-depth online interviews on users’ experiences of account bombing. These narratives publicize the politics of memory in Chinese cyberspace. This study argues that account bombing as an incident interrupts individuals’ daily lives and causes death- like pain and trauma. The blocked users’ digital memories are entirely deleted, with (part) their digital self annihilated and stripped. Writing is a way to resist forgetting and protest against the deviant stigma imposed by the authorities. It also reproduces and confirms the blocked users’ identity and subjectivity. As a result, Internet governance, committed to forgetting through deleting, has stimulated proactive memory inscription. The long-term effects of deletion on the technologized memory structure are also worth further exploring.
  • HUANGWeizi XIONGYuelei
    2023, 45(10): 49-68.
    Abstract ( ) Download PDF ( )   Knowledge map   Save
    In today’s culture of the internet, young women who have not yet married or had children are interested in “raising” virtual babies. The intersection of girl culture and motherhood studies has prompted a rethinking of how the connotation and extension of “motherhood” expand and change in the digital era. This study focuses on the practice of “cyber-motherhood” in recent years among online communities of plush doll players, with empirical data gathered through in-depth interviews and participatory observation methods. In contrast to previous studies that focused on how technology affects biological child rearing, “cyber-motherhood” focuses on the intertwined interaction of humans and technology through the concept of the cyborg. According to research, media technology, social structure, and the agency of girl players interact to shape the “cyber-mothering” practice, which is based on embodiment practice and visual techniques. It echoes the social institution of motherhood while also undermining its sanctity.While “cyber- motherhood” provides girls with a flexible strategy of dealing with life’s pressures, flowing eros emerges from the cracks of rigid binary logic, acting as a transient but widely spread force while also opening up new opportunities for various gender subject-positions.
  • SUN Zhaowen
    2023, 45(10): 69-90.
    Abstract ( ) Download PDF ( )   Knowledge map   Save
    In the mid-19th century, telegraph was gradually applied to journalism, which went through about 10 years to fit. The period when Marx and Engels reported telegrams was coincided with the crucial decade that telegraph was integrated into journalism. Their journalistic practice closely followed the process of telegraph's application in journalism, and creatively used the latest news style: telegram, which was brought about by telegraph. Through various ways, they analyzed the truth of the contents of telegrams within a limited time, thus gaining the credibility of correspondents and achieving the expected communication effect. They thought about how the telegraph would go from monopoly to socialization, how it would be connected to journalism through the fields of commerce or military, and how journalism should adapt to the new technology with a professional attitude. These critical thoughts on the application of journalistic technology are scattered in their reports, but rarely seen in the study of Marxism Journalism Views. This paper presents their practice and innovation in these aspects, so as to enlighten us to face the application of various new media with critical thinking.
  • HUANG Yangkun YU Yayun
    2023, 45(10): 91-111.
    Abstract ( ) Download PDF ( )   Knowledge map   Save
    Algorithmic discrimination poses a danger to the individual’s digital survival. Based upon semi-structural interviews with 22 algorithm engineers, this study explores how engineers’ ethical values and judgments are embedded in the discriminatory algorithm from the perspective of the social construction of technology. The study finds that algorithmic discrimination can be attributed to engineers’ understanding and pursuit of reality and accuracy—for building the mirror world, they rely on data records, social reality and statistical causality, eventually leading to the reinforcement of discrimination. Besides, for engineers, their goal of algorithmic fairness is constantly squeezed by their ethic goal of seeking reality and accuracy with certain business goals. And engineers are always educated and work in the orientation that making a bias-free digital garden isn’t an obligatory target for them. What’s more, quantifying ethical concepts like fairness remains a technical obstacle for algorithmic workers. All these make “algorithm for good” a flexible choice for engineers, finally defining their practice to debias. This study provides an empirical window for understanding algorithmic discrimination, as well as detailed and professional insights into the construction of biased technologies in Chinese context.
  • LIU Yusi YUAN Guangfeng MA Ye
    2023, 45(10): 112-134.
    Abstract ( ) Download PDF ( )   Knowledge map   Save
    Invoking historical analogies to make connections between past and present events is an important way to construct collective memory and shape public perceptions. This study examines how representative newspapers in three areas-the United States, India, and Middle East North Africa (MENA),selected and used historical analogies in their coverage of three global major conflict events of this century including the September 11, the Mumbai terrorist attacks, and the Tahrir Square demonstrations through a quantitative content analysis using the most different system design (MDSD). The study found that in the coverage of these three events, there was a pattern of “distant suffering”; and there was a significant domestication effect; as a proximity mechanism, newspapers also made greater use of historical references in the context of their own countries or regions. The study then discussed the three coexisting and decreasing media logic and their implications for news reporting of conflict events.
  • LIU Fangru
    2023, 45(10): 135-159.
    Abstract ( ) Download PDF ( )   Knowledge map   Save
    In 2019, the eSports player has become a new occupation approved by the Ministry of Human Resources and Social Security, which has stimulated the development of eSports industry. Taking “cruel optimism” and “hope” as theoretical resources, this paper examines the individual experiences and affective forms of eSports players, the central elements supporting the industry. Simultaneously, I contextualize the specific affective form in industry and political environment, in order to explore the generating logic of affects and affective practices of eSports players.This paper finds that the promises that popular culture, official documents, and eSports club collectively weave for eSports players are problematic objects of desire and prevent them from flourish. The experience of losing the object of desire is so heartbreaking that the hope and optimism held by eSports players in turn wear out their vitality, and even lead them going to “impasse”. On this basis, this study attempts to propose “the hopeful cruelty” to explain the affective practices of eSports players.
  • LIU Xiaowei
    2023, 45(10): 160-176.
    Abstract ( ) Download PDF ( )   Knowledge map   Save
    The JinZouYuan Newspapers in the Tang Dynasty was an important object of research on ancient newspapers, and previous studies paid more attention to the nature of its name and reality than the political information game behind it. After the rebellion of An Lushan and Shi Siming, the imperial power declined in the Tang Dynasty. With the rise of the Tang Dynasty military governor, the JinZouYuan Newspapers appeared in public and became the legal media held by the military governor. But the complexity of history is that the imperial power is not completely passive. The imperial power also tried to control the JinZouYuan Newspapers. This leads to the problem of political information game. The key time for the formation of this information power coupling mechanism was about the reign of Emperor Tang Xianzong. After that, the transmission of political information by imperial power through the JinZouYuan Newspapers has been institutionalized.

• 全选
    |
    本期话题:网络文化
  • 本期话题:网络文化
    杜莉华 吴世文
    2023, 45(10): 6-27.
    摘要 ( ) PDF全文 ( )   可视化   收藏
    在连接逻辑主导的互联网发展史中,失联是另类的互联网实践,长期以来一直未得到应有的重视。本文关注主动网络失联的历史过程,将我国的主动网络失联分为局部连接阶 段(1994-2006)、普遍连接阶段(2007-2013)和泛连接阶段(2013至今)三个阶段。在 主动网络失联的演变中,浮现了个人信息权和失联权两个争议焦点,个人信息权的争论随 着连接阶段的发展而变化,而失联权的确立面临与“忙碌即成功”的组织文化的冲突,以及重新界定“工作-生活”边界的挑战。有关主动网络失联的争论围绕着其能否成为一种社会机制而进行,而网民开展情境化失联的生活减速探索,“游走”于连接和失联的状态之中。透过历史分析可见,主动网络失联有成为生活方式的趋势,但作为一种社会机制还存在诸多问题。
  • 本期话题:网络文化
    方惠 吴尚蔚
    2023, 45(10): 28-48.
    摘要 ( ) PDF全文 ( )   可视化   收藏
    本研究从记忆与遗忘的辩证关系出发,聚焦中国社交平台上的“数字死亡”,即个体 用户的平台账号被关闭的现象。本文的经验材料包含131份网上发布的数字生命叙事和39份深度访谈,这些遭遇强制性删除后的个人书写和言说不仅将数字时代的记忆政治公之于 众,也将其公共化。研究发现,封号作为事件侵入了个体的日常生活,带来了死亡般的沉痛和创伤,个体数字记忆被全面删除,(一部分)自我也被湮灭和剥离。诉诸书写是抵抗遗忘的方式,抗议平台加诸的越轨标签,被封号者的身份和主体性也在书写中得以重构和确认。从结果上看,通过删除制造遗忘的平台治理反而在社会实践中激发了积极的记忆铭刻,而删除给技术化的记忆结构所带来的长远影响则值得深思。
  • 本期话题:网络文化
    黄微子 熊月蕾
    2023, 45(10): 49-68.
    摘要 ( ) PDF全文 ( )   可视化   收藏
    在当今网络流行文化中,尚未婚育的年轻女孩却热衷于以另类的方式“养娃”。少女文化碰撞母职研究,引发了我们关于“母职”在数字时代内涵和外延拓展及变革的思考。本研究聚焦于棉花娃娃玩家群体近年来形成的“赛博母职”实践,并通过深度访谈和参与式观察的方法收集经验性材料。既往的“数字母职”研究关注技术如何影响生物性育儿,区别于此,“赛博母职”指向赛博格隐喻下人和技术双向交织的视角。研究发现,媒介技术、社会结构与少女的能动性共同塑造了以手作实践和视觉操弄为核心的“赛博育儿”实践,在与社会中的母职制度回响的同时,也在消解母职的神圣性。当“赛博母职”成了少女面对生活压力的一种柔性策略,流动的爱欲从顽固的二元论逻辑的裂缝中涌现出来,形成微弱短暂同时广泛流展的力量,为多元的性别主体-位置提供新的可能性。
  • 马克思主义新闻观研究
  • 马克思主义新闻观研究
    孙曌闻
    2023, 45(10): 69-90.
    摘要 ( ) PDF全文 ( )   可视化   收藏
    19世纪中叶,电报技术逐步融入新闻业,经历了约10年的适应阶段。马克思恩格斯的电讯实践,恰处于电报技术融入新闻业的这关键的10年。他们的新闻实践紧紧跟进电报用 于新闻传播的进程,创造性地使用电报催生的最新新闻体裁——电讯,通过各种路径在有限的时间内辨析电讯内容的真实程度,从而获得了通讯员的公信力,达到了预期的传播效果。他们思考着电报如何从垄断走向社会化,如何通过商业、战争领域接入新闻业,新闻业应如何以专业的态度适应电报这一新技术等等问题。这些针对新闻业技术应用提出的批 判思想散见于他们的报道中,却鲜见于马克思主义新闻观研究。本文展现他们这些方面的实践创新,以启示我们用批判的思维面对各种新媒体的应用。
  • 研究论文
  • 研究论文
    黄阳坤 俞雅芸
    2023, 45(10): 91-111.
    摘要 ( ) PDF全文 ( )   可视化   收藏
    算法歧视现象构成个人数字化生存的伦理挑战。通过访谈22位国内算法工程师,本研究从技术的社会建构视角出发,探讨了他们的价值目标和伦理实践如何作用于有偏算法系统之产生、发展与应用。研究发现,算法歧视与工程师对真实和准确的理解、追求有关——他们试图打造“镜像世界”时,以数据、社会、统计因果等为“求真”的依归,最终导致了歧视的加固与强化;同时,面向算法公平和正义的算法“向善”,被“求真求 准”的价值目标和特定业务目标不断挤压;工程师所受教育和所处组织环境,让他们认为 “求善”并非他们的职责。加上公平等伦理概念本身难以量化,更为建设“数字花园”制造了技术难度。这些都让“求善”沦为工程师的一种弹性选择,影响了他们“去偏”和 “消歧”的伦理实践方案。这一研究为理解算法歧视提供了来自工程师伦理层面的实证依据,为理解有偏算法的社会建构提供了基于中国语境的业内见解。
  • 研究论文
    刘于思 袁光锋 马烨
    2023, 45(10): 112-134.
    摘要 ( ) PDF全文 ( )   可视化   收藏
    调用历史类比,在过去与当下的事件之间建立关联,是建构集体记忆、塑造公众认知的重要方式。本研究通过最相异系统设计的一项量化内容分析,考察了“9·11”、 孟买恐怖袭击和开罗示威三个本世纪以来具有全球影响力的重大冲突事件的报道在美国、印度和中东北非等对应区域的代表性报纸中被调用历史类比的媒体逻辑。研究发 现,在这三个事件的报道中,媒体逻辑存在着“远方苦难”模式,以他人经历解释他人苦难;呈现显著的“驯化效应”,报纸会努力将“他们”建构为“我们”或能够理解的 人,在“他人”与“我们”之间建立认知关联和意义连接;媒体也会在本地区遭受暴力袭击事件时更多使用历史参照,展现出接近性机制。研究随后讨论了三种规律并存且依次递减的媒体逻辑及其对冲突性事件新闻报道的启示。
  • 研究论文
    刘芳儒
    2023, 45(10): 135-159.
    摘要 ( ) PDF全文 ( )   可视化   收藏
    2019年电子竞技员(也称电竞选手)成为人社部批准的新职业,这带动了电竞产业的蓬勃发展。论文以“残酷的乐观主义”和“希望”为理论资源,考察支撑该产业的核心元素:电竞选手的个体经验和情感形式,并将电竞选手呈现的情感形态扣连行业语境和政治环境做情境性分析,以探究当代电竞选手的情感生成逻辑及其情感带动的行为。本文发现大众文化、政策扶持和行业语境共同为电竞选手编织的美好承诺是有问题的欲望客体,并阻碍他们走向繁荣。失去欲望客体的体验让人如此心碎,以至于电竞选手抱持的希望和乐观反而磨损和消耗了他们的生命力,甚至将其引入“僵局”。在此基础上,本文提出“希望的残酷主义”,以思考和理解当代电竞选手的情感实践。
  • 研究论文
    刘晓伟
    2023, 45(10): 160-176.
    摘要 ( ) PDF全文 ( )   可视化   收藏
    唐代进奏院状报是古代报纸研究的重要对象,既往研究多关注其名实性质,少有关注其背后的政治信息博弈问题。安史之乱后,唐代皇权衰落,进奏院状报随地方势力的崛起而公开出现,皇权无力遏制只能予以承认,进奏院状报便成为藩镇所掌握的合法媒介。但历史的复杂性在于,皇权在这个过程中并非是完全被动的,中央政权的信息也借由这条公开合法的媒介途径延伸,产生了信息权力博弈的问题。这种信息权力机制形成的关键时点,大约在唐宪宗元和年间。在此之后,皇权通过进奏院状报传递政治信息已然制度化。皇权与藩镇在进奏院状报的政治信息博弈中形成的信息权力机制,正是二者微妙共生格局的一种具体体现。